Hey there! It’s been a while!

After the wisdom teeth debacle, it was really hard for me to get back to things. I finally feel, after a few weeks, that life is getting back to normal. I can’t believe I was able to write my last post and that it made sense! I did not feel good and it got to the point where I thought I’d never get better. Of course, I knew that wasn’t true but it sure felt that way for a while.

I did end up making Potato Leek Soup. It turned out very yummy and I cannot wait to make more of it this winter! Again, must find that Irish Soda Bread recipe! Soup isn’t the only thing I’ve been making. Take a look!

First up is Raspberry Preserves, made of mostly Farmers Market raspberries.
Granny Smith apples for the natural pectin.
Raspberries cooking down before the apples are added.

In go the apples to swim with the raspberries. Time for the pectin to kick in.

Cans are all sealed up, ready to sit and be stored for the winter!

About a week after my surgery, I was watching Giada at Home on the Food Network and the episode that was “Cooking School Made Easy”. She made Chocolate and Cheese Danishes that looked amazing and so simple to make. I had never made danishes before so I decided to give it a try. Despite one little setback, they turned out great! Note to self: never use wax paper as a replacement for parchment paper. 🙂 They didn’t look too pretty but the taste made up for it. Jason was out of town when I made them so I decided to make them again tonight. A much smoother attempt this time, thankfully.

I also threw together a cobbler topping so I could finally make something with my Muscadine and Plum filling I canned last month. It turned out delicious! JZ and I had some while it was still hot with some vanilla ice cream. I’m so glad it turned out the way it did.

I’ll be sending my second jar of that up to my Momma along with a can of preserves and salsa!

I think I have a good start to my desserts. I really want to start making pizza and pie dough, breads, scones, dinner rolls, and other staples a household might need on a regular basis. It’s time to put my ideas into motion!

I believe it’s bedtime for me. Some of my New Years Resolutions need to kick in before the end of this year for them to count! That includes going to bed earlier and waking up earlier, two things I’m very much not fond of. I have, however, been doing well with another resolution that isn’t on my favorites list: the elliptical. I’m hoping to get into a routine with that, and/or heading to yoga or biking, and make it a better habit. If you can’t tell, I have a problem with routines. Well, all except the routine of eating, which needs to be modified as part of yet another resolution! But that might have to be another blog entry.

Goodnight!

Leave a Reply

