Channeling happy thoughts.

This morning was super rough. Getting my times at work mixed up, forgetting my keys in a friend’s car for a few days, and, on top of all that, leaving my coffee at home! As my day comes to an end, I’m thinking about things that make me happy and I thought I’d share some of those.

I did end up finishing Body Surfing by Anita Shreve the other night. It wasn’t my favorite book but it was a decent read. I wanted to keep turning the page so that’s a good sign. I’m excited to read the other two books written by her, Light on Snow and A Wedding in December, that I bought during an amazing clearance sale from Barnes and Noble. Last week I picked up The Help by Kathryn Stockett at the library. The size is a bit intimidating but I’m hoping it is well worth it. And from the reviews I’ve read and heard, I think it will be.

So I’ve been wanting to check out Trader Joe’s for a while now and just haven’t had the time. Monday was the only day off Jason and I have had together in a few weeks since he’s been traveling for work so I decided Monday was the day we would go. We wanted to go to the NC State Farmers Market so we decided to head to Trader Joe’s afterward. I wasn’t as impressed as I thought I’d be after I’ve heard people rave about it but I would like to go more often. We looked at prices and what they offer. Quality-wise, I’m sure it’s much better. It might just be something where we have to decide which foods we want to spend more on for a better quality and which we can get away with buying at the grocery store.

Their website is pretty cool. I’m trying to eat healthier and their website helps with that. At the bottom of their Products page, they have “Trader Joe’s Handy Products List”, which include low sodium, fat free, and vegetarian lists. Eating healthier, to me, means venturing out with foods I currently don’t eat. That mindset worked wonders on my feelings toward red and green peppers. I was seriously missing out from not eating those! I’m looking forward to trying out some of their recipes.

We bought the magazine Whole Living tonight, which used to be Body+Soul magazine. It is a Martha Steward publication but I appreciate that WL is not overly saturated with Martha. I love Martha Stewart Living but WL is more up my alley focusing on natural and healthy choices in life. Their website also is a great source of information. They have a lot of information on recipes and fitness, and ways to better your life. They have a “28-Day Mind and Body Challenge” that sounds pretty interesting. I might have to give it a try starting next week. I’m always intrigued by websites that not only have a lot of useful information but ones that give new ways to look at the process of bettering your life.

One of my favorite things to do is to read and research on my favorite websites or blogs, like the Whole Foods blog, and get some inspiration and motivation. There is a lot of information out there about being healthy and sustainable that is over-the-top or useless but I’m hoping I’m finding the best of all these to use in my life.

Leave a Reply

